Sierra Firearms Academy   

145 Isidor Ct. Suite F
Sparks,  NEVADA 89441
Phone 775.425.1678

 

 

 

Florida Permit Information

 

 

Directions to the class!

Basic Self Defense Class 

This is the class you need if you want to apply for a Nevada concealed weapons permit. This is also the best class for the beginner with handguns, even if you are not interested in getting a permit. If you are really new to this, we make sure you get the attention you need to make you comfortable and confident.

Ladies, there are always other ladies in the class. We go out of our way to make sure you are comfortable in our classes. We can also do a special ladies only class for you and your friends. Contact us for details.

This is an 8 hour class, with about 6 hours of classroom followed by another 2 hours of shooting exercises. 

This class will also enable you to apply for a Florida concealed weapons permit in addition to Nevada and is included. See the Florida Permits link for more info. With the NV and FL permit you can carry in 34 states currently, or 19 states with the NV permit alone.

See the reciprocity page link in the left column to see what states honor these permits.

Topics covered in this class are:

  • Safety
  • Use of force and the law
  • Weapon handling skills
  • Tactics
  • Carrying your weapon
  • Legal issues
  • Test & Qualification
  • Street proven combat drills (If time permits)

And much more. Questions answered by Law Enforcement professionals who know.

For this class you need to bring:

Bring any handgun you care to shoot, either auto or revolver. That will qualify you for all.
The state mandated qualification takes 30 rds for each gun. Reloads OK.
If you bring about 100 rounds, we will do some practical training after the qualification, if you want to participate. Not required. (Time permitting)
Eye and ear protection. (Regular glasses ok, earplugs or muffs)
Extra magazines or speedloaders useful, not mandatory.
Holster if you have one, also not mandatory.
Clothes for the weather, a hat is good.  Our classes go on rain or shine.
Lunch if you want it, we have a microwave at the training center you can use.

  

Basic Self Defense Class and Concealed Permit

Ready to sign up? Pick your class and register now on line!   

                                        

If you wish to pay by credit card, come back here after registering. Click on the PayPal button below and be taken to the PayPal service to complete the transaction. Note there is a 3% fee to use a credit card as that is our cost to offer this service.  
                        Thank you for choosing Sierra Firearms Academy!
Price:  $150. per person          (Group classes only)         

Price:  $250. for you and your spouse in the same class.                        (Group classes only)  See the FAQ page for private class rates.